Leanne Sickles NOLA Build Trip 2015

Hi everyone! My name is Leanne Sickles and I am a sophomore studying architectural engineering. When I decided to be a part of Habitat for Humanity, I was looking to learn more about construction through hands on experience. After going on the build trip this year I found that being a part of Habitat for Humanity was much more rewarding than I had hoped. During the week that we were there, we each spent three days on the build site and one day in the Restore. The main things that we did at the build site were paint and hang the outside walls of a house. Both of these things, as well as the many little tasks that we did, provided me with the hands on experience that I was really looking forward to. The one day spent at the Restore allowed me to realize why being a part of Habitat is so great. Everyone’s gratefulness for our volunteering our time to help others was amazing to see and it really makes me want to remain a part of Habitat. Going into the week I was not sure what to expect because I had never been on a build trip before and I did not know anyone else that was going on the trip. Now looking back I am very happy that I pushed myself out of my comfort zone because being able to gain experience in the field that I love while both helping others and having fun makes me excited for the many more experiences I will have with Habitat.

Leave a Reply

